How Does Your Ruling Planet Affect You?

Oct 04, 2017 by apost team

While you may know your zodiac sign, did you know that you also have a ruling planet? Each zodiac sign is ruled by one of the planets and it can affect you deeply. Each planet is a pillar of astrology and goes back to ancient astrology giving us deep insight into the characteristics of each zodiac sign.

The Sun: 

Leo is ruled by the fiery sun. It is the most consistent measure of time in the zodiac and visits the exact same spot that it was in at the time of your birth, once a year. People who are born under the lion sign, Leo, burn bright like the sun and have a fiery intensity and huge self-image. They are known for a consistency of drive and personality.

The Moon:

The moon rules the zodiac sign of Cancer. The moon controls many things on earth including cycles such as the tides of the ocean. Visiting once a month, the Moon rules Cancerians making them obsessed with security. They love consistency and security, often preferring to stay home in their place of comfort. 


Virgo and Gemini are both ruled by the planet Mercury. This planet goes around the sun so quickly that at times it appears to be moving backwards which is known as Mercury Retrograde. This period is often characterised by chaos which means that signs ruled by Mercury learn to be extremely good improvisers. The two signs ruled by Mercury each reflect different aspects of the planet. Geminis are characterised by a dominance of communication and are apt at talking through their problems while Virgo highlights an organizational nature and deal with the world by creating hierarchies and strict systems for themselves.   


Planet of love, beauty and art! This planet takes about 11months to move around the zodiac which means that every two years it has a moment f retrograde which can last up to two months. This period is known for inspiring the artist and the lover inside us all but has a special effect on the two signs it rules. Libra and Taurus may seem very different but they reflect very distinct aspects of Venus. Taurus is personified by their love of beauty - everything from acquiring beautiful things to indulging in beautiful foods while Libra is all about the art and creation. They look deeper into the symbols of art, fashion or the act of sharing a meal. 


This is a masculine planet all about action, intensity and battle. It rules both Aries and Scorpio, strong signs that are characterized by their dedication and fiery natures. Aries, the sign of the Ram, never look to the past as they are always focussed on moving forward. Scorpios, on the other hand, are entirely focussed on success and demand unwavering loyalty from those around them. This planet takes two years to circle the sun and when it is in retrograde it brings out the warrior in us all. 


As the biggest planet in the solar system, Jupiter is the ruler of all things large and important. This planet spends about a year in each sign because it takes 12 years to move through the zodiac. It is the ruling planet of Sagittarius which reflects in their love for living large - they enjoy a good time. Jupiter is also the ancient ruler of Pisces and still holds significant sway over people born under this sign.  


This planet rules two contiguous signs, namely Aquarius and Capricorn. The darkest months of the year (in the northern hemisphere) are ruled by Saturn and it is often known as the planet of limitations. It takes the longest time to circle the zodiac - almost 28 and a half years! Capricorn, the sign of the Goat, responds to the limitations set by Saturn by continually seeking their place in this world. They are often focussed on the boundaries set by social convention and how possibilities arise within these constraints. Aquarians have Saturn as their ancient ruler and are known to mirror this planet's watchful eye, they are often aloof and interested in mass media and popular trends around the world.

Uranus, Neptune and Pluto:

These planets were only discovered later and since then, astrologers have sought to find the connections between these planets and the zodiac signs. Each one was found to have specific characteristics which affect people. Uranus is now the ruler of Aquarius and is the planet of uprisings and revolutions. While Pisces' ancient ruler was Jupiter, it is now ruled by Neptune which is strongly linked to the birth of psychoanalysis. People born under this planet often have a strong connection to photography. Pluto was the final planet to be discovered and was found to have strong ties to those born under the sign of Scorpio. It is often connected to a secret source of power. These . three planets are known as contemporary rulers and their signs are strongly affected by both them and their ancient rulers. 

Your ruling planet often reveals a core truth about yourself and helps to delve deeper into how your moment of birth and where the planets were in the sky made you into the person you are today. 


SHARE now with your friends and loved ones so they know what their ruling planet says about them and how it affects their lives. Hit SHARE now!